10-year Driver License Suspension for Multiple DUI Convictions
California Vehicle Code 23152
A new law has been enacted as of January 1, 2012 regarding your driver license suspension after several DUI convictions.
California Vehicle Code Section 23597 now gives the court authority to sentence you to a 10-year driver license suspension if you are convicted or 3 or more DUIs within a 10-year period.
In doing so, the court will consider the following factors:
- The person’s level of remorse for the acts.
- The period of time that has elapsed since the person’s previous convictions.
- The person’s blood-alcohol level at the time of the violation.
- The person’s participation in an alcohol treatment program.
- The person’s risk to traffic or public safety.
- The person’s ability to install a certified ignition interlock device in each motor vehicle that he or she owns or operates.
It is more important than ever to successfully fight a DUI charge. Consult an experienced Orange County DUI Defense Attorney if you were arrested. At the Law Offices of Nam Q. Doan | OC Legal Defense, I will fight to get your case dismissed and help you get your license back as soon as possible. Call today at (714) 248-DOAN (3626). For more information, visit www.OCLegalDefense.com and read the DUI Section.
Follow the firm on twitter: @OCLegalDefense