Marijuana Cultivation Punishment
Punishment for Marijuana Cultivation
California has shifting towards decriminalization of marijuana for a number of years now. The possession of less than 28.5 grams of marijuana is now punishable as an infraction and not as a misdemeanor.
Possessing marijuana may be a slap on the wrist, but people can still get into trouble by not knowing the specific laws dealing with marijuana. It is still a felony to unlawfully cultivate marijuana.
The prosecution must show that the defendant charged planted a marijuana plant and knew it was marijuana. A defense to this charge is the fact that you are a medical marijuana patient or a primary caregiver, but you must be in compliance with the medical marijuana laws under California.
A conviction for marijuana cultivation can result in imprisonment for 3 years in state prison and a fine of up to $1,000 plus other court fees. It will also result in a felony going on your criminal record.
If you were arrested for marijuana cultivation, call the Law Offices of Nam Q. Doan | OC Legal Defense today at (714)248-DOAN(3626). I can help you win your case. For more information, visit www.OCLegalDefense.com.
Follow the firm on twitter: @OCLegalDefense