Punishment for Driving with a Suspended License as a Habitual Traffic Offender
Orange County Driving with a Suspended License Attorney
You face mandatory jail time if you were convicted of driving with a suspended license and the reason for the suspension was because of a DUI conviction. The penalty increases if you have a prior Driving with a Suspended License conviction within the past 5 years.
The penalty significantly increases if you have been deemed a “Habitual Traffic Offender” by the court/DMV, and you are charged with driving with a suspended license under California Vehicle Code 14601.2.
Under California Vehicle Code 14601.3, a conviction for driving with a suspended license as a “habitual traffic offender” results in 180 days of jail time added onto the punishment for the driving offense.
This makes it important to be represented by an attorney if you are faced with a driving with a suspended license charge. It is a misdemeanor charge and will have severe penalties if convicted.
If you have a VC 14601.2 charge, call the Law Offices of Nam Q. Doan | OC Legal Defense today at (714)248-DOAN(3626). I will defend you in court and fight to get your charges dismissed. For more information, visit www.OCLegalDefense.com and read the Driving with a Suspended License section.